(21) Russia abolished winter timeFeb 05, 2013

Russia abolished Kamchatka and Samara time zone in 2010 and reduced the number of time zones from 11 to 9. Furthermore, Russia also abolished the transition to winter time in 2011. The reason was that the change from summer to winter time caused a number of health problems and had no effect on energy saving. Just as Roman Emperors, Caesar and Augustus changed the name of month, the calendar reform is an effective political appeal from all time periods and countries. We wonder if ex-Russian President Medvedev can carve his name in history as the man who introduced permanent summer time. On the other hand, the movement to end 'Day Saving Time' gains momentum in UK, Germany and Ukraine. If all Europe follows suit, DST may soon disappear from the world.
Related calculator
  • Back